RSS

Stay Focused and Confident in Your Pursuit Toward Success

06 Sep

I was in the office yesterday and had a one on one meeting with my manager.  We went over what I had been working on for the last week.  I talked to her about what worked, what didn’t, we discussed how to tweak my approach and  what my goals would be moving forward.  I spoke openly about feeling like I had hit the wall and felt stuck.  I don’t know what it is about speaking your mind, but being honest about where my head was at seemed to help me shake off that stuck feeling.  I felt propelled forward and re-energized to make another stab at the process.

After the meeting, I was talking with one of the agents who has been working a few months longer than me and is staying quite busy.  She provided me with some encouragement and a chance to hold her beloved lucky charm (a gold four-leaf clover with an emerald on it laying loosely inside a black mesh bag).  The agent swears by the luck associated with this charm whenever she needs a boost.  I had held the charm one time before and felt that my luck had improved as well.  Who knows what the true power of that charm is, but it does help in recreating a sense of confidence.  No matter, I won’t knock it (I’m willing to try anything that gives me a feeling of increased power over my situation.

My day continued on and as luck would have it, I picked up the opportunity to host two open houses that some other agents were planning, a slot taking floor calls (from an overloaded agent) and went to a showing where I picked up two possible clients.  Say what you will, but my luck was changing.

By the end of the day, my dismal mood had changed dramatically.  I went from feeling as though I had hit bottom to a renewed sense of purpose and determination.  This is the life of a Real Estate Agent.  The lesson that I learned was that you can’t let your emotions get the best of you.  Keep moving and try different techniques to get to your goal.  Eventually you will see a shift from your effort and it usually doesn’t take long at all for things to look brighter again.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in advice, career, job, life, opinion, people, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Stay Focused and Confident in Your Pursuit Toward Success

  1. Mark Drew

    September 7, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    Awesome read ! Be happy and achieve all your goals… http://tiny.cc/ulj9jw

    Regards,

    Mark

     
  2. Rdesigns

    September 7, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    Glad to see you rebounding! We all go through these moments and by you sharing your stories only helps inspire us all to continue on. Let’s go get em!!!

     
  3. Tammy

    September 6, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    That is awesome… stay focused and stay lucky!

     

Leave a Reply

 
