RSS

Interview with Real Estate Agent and Designer Linda Raveau

03 Sep

In my continuing series of interviews, I would like to introduce another Real Estate Agent, Linda Raveau.  Linda has an incredible background and a wonderful easy manner about her.  Combined with her knowledge of Real Estate, she intrigued me.  I hope you enjoy getting to know Linda Raveau as much as I did.

Linda has been an artist all her life and in 1997 decided to pursue a creative career as an interior designer by obtaining her Associate’s of Applied Science in that field.  After completing her degree, she worked as a project designer for the EXPO Design Center.

After working with EXPO for several years she decided to leave and establish her own interior design business in 2003 called Rdesigns.  During this transition, she also worked with the College for Creative Studies where she managed the Animation and Digital Media Department.  This allowed her to work closely with the art industry and programs that strengthened her artistic skills.

In 2009, Linda returned to school to obtain her BA in Business and has now expanded her business to include the Real Estate industry.

INTERVIEW

1.  When did you decide to pursue a career in Real Estate?

After I completed my BA, I wanted a fresh approach in marketing my business.  When I came across information on becoming a Real Estate Agent it just clicked — this would be a perfect fit.  My knowledge could help people get their homes prepared for market so they could get the best turnaround time and value.  For those buying a home, I could show them options they may not have considered that would best fit their needs and budget. 

2.  What has been the best experience you have had so far as a Realtor?

I am still a little new to the industry, but the best part thus far has been the support system we have at Real Estate One.  They provide a ton of tools and resources that help you market, learn and manage your business. 

3.  What has been challenging as a Realtor?

When I first entered the Real Estate field, learning the jargon and fully understanding the scope of the business was the biggest challenge.  There is a lot to know and understanding the business is important.  This is why I dedicated many hours to training and education in order to best represent my clients.  I’m all about being thorough and providing the best service.

4.  What communities do you work in as a Real Estate Agent?

I live in Royal Oak and work there and in the surrounding areas, such as Clawson, Berkley, Birmingham and Detroit.  However, I am open to other areas as well.  I don’t like to limit myself.  If I did, I wouldn’t get jobs like the one I got while working at EXPO, which was designing a home in Mackinaw… that was great  fun!

5.  What made you pursue Interior Design?

I have a deep appreciation of the arts.  It started when I was in grade school and continued through high school when I had to get permission to overload my classes to include a 4 year art program. 

My desire was to attend art college after graduation, but in those days not much encouragement was given to pursue art as a career.  Instead, I got a job and began working with my cousin in his wallpaper and paint business.  I installed the wallpaper and when needed, helped with the selections and colors.  I instantly fell in love with the transformations we created for these spaces. 

From that point on, I became entrenched with the world of interiors.  I read just about every magazine or book I could find.  It wasn’t until later in life that I was able to acquire that art degree and interior design just seemed to be the natural fit.

6.  How will you incorporate design into your Real Estate Career?

From my experience, people have a hard time visualizing their space, or have difficulty coming up with solutions for problem areas.

 A current example is with a design client that has a fireplace oddly situated in their family room.  I gave them several ideas that ranged from inexpensive solutions to more involved changes.  Even though they have lived in this space for over 15 years, they never once thought of these solutions.  They were thrilled with their new options. 

This is how I can incorporate my skills for those trying to sell or buy a home… help them see their options.

7.  Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I enjoy connecting people to their spaces.  Because of my dedication and level of service, I see my business growing to a point where I will have to hire additional people to keep up with the demand.  There are a lot of people and homes out there in need of help.  As an Interior Designer with Rdesigns, and as a Real Estate Agent with Real Estate One, I want to be there to lend them a hand. 

 

Linda Raveau is a Licensed Real Estate Agent at Real Estate One in Royal Oak, MI.  If you are interested in Buying, Selling or Leasing a home, you can contact Linda Raveau at:

Real Estate One
26236 Woodward Ave.
Royal Oak, MI 48067
Cell: (248) 506-0310
Office: (248) 548-9100
Email: LindaRaveau@realestateone.com
Website: http://www.realestateone.com/lindaraveau

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in career, job, life, people, personal, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Interview with Real Estate Agent and Designer Linda Raveau

  1. Susan Cooper/findingourwaynow.com

    September 3, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    You do such a nice job of bringing out the personality of the individual. I feel as if I know Linda and can connect with her chooses and where she wants to be in the future. 🙂

     
    • wendymc12

      September 3, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Thanks, that’s wonderful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
