RSS

I’ve Listed My First Home

24 Aug

Well, I did it.  I listed my first home.  I have gotten to know another agent in the office fairly well.  We both started working at the real estate office on the same day.  We have shared the same cubicle and have compared notes often.  It’s been great to know someone who is going through the same experiences to be able to lean on.

The other day, a call came in while the agent I know was doing floor calls.  A couple wanted to list their home.  The agent was as anxious as I have been about going on a listing appointment.  She asked me if I would like to go on the appointment with her and share the potential commission.  The idea of having another agent to lean on for a first listing appointment was an incredible opportunity for me.  When I said sure, she was as happy and relieved as I was.

To get ready for the appointment, we looked at other comparable homes in the area so that we knew what a good price would be to market the home at.  A folder was put together with information on the company, where we would advertise the listing, the costs of listing the home and so on.

We went to the listing appointment, walked through the home to gauge what condition the home was in and then took a seat to go over the information we had brought.  The couple was as nice as could be and we felt at ease right away.  Going with another agent turned out to be a great idea.  The couple was happy to get more than one opinion.  They liked the fact that they would be getting two agents working on their home for the commission of one agent.  We connected with the couple quite well and they were happy to sign a contract for us to list the home.

We spent about two hours on the appointment and took our time to go over all of the information.  We put a plan together regarding when we would start showing the home, the possibility of having an open house and scheduled a time to come back and take pictures and get measurements.

When we got back in the car, we were elated.  The couple really liked us and we really liked them.  Working as a team worked out to our advantage and the couple was thrilled.  I felt so lucky to have met another agent that I work so well with.

We have decided that we will continue to work as a team for a while until we are more comfortable striking out on our own.  The great thing about the two of us working together is that we are looking to sell real estate in different areas.  I am at the southern end of Oakland County.  It’s where I live and the area I am most familiar with.  The other agent lives at the northern end of Oakland County.  Because we will ultimately be working in different areas, we will be able to help each other with referrals of people looking in the area we will be servicing.

If you are just starting out as a realtor, I highly recommend getting to know someone in the office that is like-minded.  To be able to ask advice, get support and possibly even share listings having another agent to lean on is truly invaluable.

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in advice, career, job, opinion, personal, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “I’ve Listed My First Home

  1. Tammy

    August 27, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Congrats!!!!! I bet you are excited and scared. Love the teamwork approach. Great way to start out until you are more comfortable. Here is to many more!

     
    • wendymc12

      August 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Thanks. it was a huge relief to have someone with me.

       
      • Tammy

        August 28, 2012 at 4:46 pm

        I bet. Make sure to keep us posted on the journey

         
  2. joannerambling

    August 25, 2012 at 3:12 am

    That is greeat news I know you will have lots of success………

     

Leave a Reply

 
