RSS

Everyone Hits the Wall

20 Aug

One of the things that I find is invaluable about where I work is the support of other realtors.  I find that I have been freezing up since my first experience showing a home.  There is so much to learn and I feel ill prepared to answer many of the questions that a client might bring up.  I am also feeling insecure about filling out the paperwork with a client without a more experienced realtor standing by ready to help me out. Like many of the moments I have gone through since beginning my career, what I am experiencing is not only normal, but happens to every new realtor I’m finding out.

I was talking with one of the realtors in the office this morning and was reassured that I would get through this glitch.  When I was eighteen years old, I decided to waitress part-time while going to school.  I knew a few friends who loved waitressing because the hours were flexible and you left work each day with money in your pocket.  Waitressing seemed like a perfect choice for a kid in school.  There was just one problem, I was painfully shy.  It took everything I had to push myself to get over the shyness and try out a job as a waitress.

I remember my first waitressing job.  I worked at a local Coney Island Restaurant.  Another waitress trained me for a few days.  When she felt I had learned everything I needed to know she set me out onto the floor to take an order.  I panicked.  I remember stalling having to go over and asked the waitress what I should say when I approached the table full of customers. She very nicely said, “just say, can I take your order.”  I was completely embarrassed.  Of course that is what I should say, but in that moment, my nerves got the best of me.  It took pure determination not to bolt for the door and instead face my fears.

When I was talking with the realtor this morning, I told her this story and said that was how I felt now as a realtor.  She was so kind to me and said that she had gone through the same feelings when she worked with her first few clients.  She assured me that although she made her own mistakes, she had the support of others in the office and got through it.  The feelings I have been feeling are another common obstacle of life as a new realtor.  If you are just beginning your career as a real estate agent, I hope this story helps you out and eases your mind.  You will go through moments of trepidation, but you will get past it as long as you look fear in the face and plow through it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in advice, career, job, life, personal, real estate

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Everyone Hits the Wall

  1. dlhubbard

    August 26, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I absolutely agree with the help more experienced Realtor’s can provide. There is no greater resource in any office. Early in my career I was told by a mentor “Fake it until you make it”. The point was to stay focused and confident and not let the fear and insecurity of new business experiences take over. Eventually you’ll realize somewhere along the way you became the experienced agent!

     
    • wendymc12

      August 27, 2012 at 12:19 am

      It’s crazy how you can feel confident until that first listing appointment. Wow the fear and insecurity can completely overtake you. Thankfully, I pushed through it and I’m determined to keep moving forward. Thanks so much for the positive comment. 🙂

       
  2. Rdesigns

    August 25, 2012 at 11:34 am

    I just faced my first showing yesterday and dealt with client questions, paperwork and putting in an offer. I was swimming in thoughts and questioning what am I doing here? Is this for me? Then I read your blog… it give a much better perspective. This real estate business is new for me too and like everything new, it will take time. We just have to give that time to ourselves. Thank you for sharing this story… it calmed my storm.

     
    • wendymc12

      August 25, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      I’m so glad. You made my day. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
