RSS

The Surprising Anxiety Faced By a New Realtor

14 Aug

I have been fortunate to work for a company that has a great training program.  Until I started working at the office, I really had no idea just how valuable it was to have this type of support and information available to me.  Over the last few weeks, I have been grateful to have picked the company I did.

I have spent the last few days in a training class to further the process along and gain even more knowledge.  I am surrounded by other new agent’s who like me feel the same excitement and anxiety over what we are truly embarking upon.  Each day of class has introduced us to another new manager with a completely different set of skills to help us better understand the components of the business.

The most surprising thing I have realized is that the biggest fear among the new agent’s is not how much business we will acquire.  Quite honestly the office has been buzzing with activity and even the agent’s who have only been working for a few months are beyond busy.  The biggest fear is that we will not have enough knowledge when working with a potential client.

The business is not just simply driving around, exchanging pleasantries and looking at pretty homes.  There is paperwork, a ton of it that needs to be explained, filled in and written up properly.  There is also the general information questions like, how much money will be needed between the deposit, commission, down payment and closing costs or how long will a short-sale take?

When I am in front of that potential client, I want to know all of the answers.  I want to be able to guide the people I am helping out by informing them of everything they will need to know.  This is a huge event in a person’s life and I aim to make the process as smooth and pleasant as possible.  Buying a home should be fun and exciting.  Even though there will be some stress from making such a big life change, I want to minimize the stress wherever possible.

While I have been in the class, I got to know two other new agent’s pretty well.  They are having the same anxiety as me.  Honestly, this was a relief.  We decided that every Monday we will get together for lunch and go over where we are at, what we need help with and what we can do to support each other.  I think that having this time to commiserate with each other will bring about some positive and confident change between all of us.  In the mean time, it’s back to my notes to brush up on all the information I have learned.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2012 in career, job, people, real estate, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Surprising Anxiety Faced By a New Realtor

  1. Tammy

    August 18, 2012 at 12:44 am

    I didn’t tell you, I’m getting my license too. We will be only a few months apart. I think It will be great to follow each other on this journey. I know how excited I am, and I can only imagine how excited you are. In a few years, we can laugh at these nerves. 😀

     
    • wendymc12

      August 18, 2012 at 1:02 am

      Tammy, that’s incredible. Are you in Michigan? If you need any advice or just a person to talk to about any uncertainties, I’d be happy to lend an ear or pass along anything I’ve learned. So excited for you. 🙂

       
      • Tammy

        August 18, 2012 at 1:05 am

        Actually in Arizona. But we can still compare notes!

         
      • wendymc12

        August 18, 2012 at 1:07 am

        Anytime, I’d be happy to chat.

         
  2. joannerambling

    August 15, 2012 at 1:03 am

    Yes you are lucky to have received so much great training and advice……..

     

Leave a Reply

 
