RSS

Interview with Carolyn Coakley of Real Estate One

06 Aug

As part of my Adventures in Real Estate blog, I thought it would be beneficial to interview some Real Estate Agents who were in different stages of their career.  I met up with Carolyn Coakley from the Real Estate One, Royal Oak office who graciously allowed me to interview her about her experiences as a Real Estate Agent.

Carolyn, who is a native of Baltimore, Maryland, has a fascinating background.  After attending and receiving a Master’s Degree from the University of Virginia and Harvard University, Carolyn settled into the Title Insurance and Mortgage industry where she worked for over 25 years.  Along the way, she has also spent her time teaching at some of the most prestigious universities in the country.

This wonderful woman with her lovely southern accent is so charming, sweet and authentic that I knew she would make a perfect candidate to interview for this blog.  I hope you enjoy reading her interview as much as I enjoyed meeting up with her to have the following conversation.

INTERVIEW

1.  What made you decide to get into Real Estate?

I worked in the Real Estate industry for over 25 years.  I knew I wanted to work for myself, and becoming a Real Estate Agent seemed to be a natural fit.

2.  How long have you been a Real Estate Agent?

I have been an agent for almost 6 months.

3.  What has been the best part of your job?

I love dealing with every personality type.  I love people, what makes them click, interacting and negotiating.  I am fascinated with the variety of people I encounter from day to day, and it truly is the best part of my job.

4.  What has been your least favorite part of your job?

Honestly, it’s climbing up and down stairs in homes that have no banisters.

5.  What has been your best experience?

Finding a home for a Major in the Marine Corps without him or his wife viewing the properties in person.  I found out what they were looking for, sent those photos of potential homes and they narrowed the choices down to a home they thought they would love.  I met them for the first time at the closing.  After signing papers, I showed them to their new home, unlocked their door and handed them their key.  They walked in and fell in love with their home.  It was an incredible and very satisfying moment.

6.  Do you have any unusual stories you would like to share?

I was showing a home to a couple and went down to check out the unfinished basement.  In the corner I saw a shadowy figure moving around.  I watched it until it disappeared. I had just seen a ghost.

7.  What do you enjoy most about working for Real Estate One?

The people in the office.  Everyone is a true professional and characters in their own right.

8.   Are short-sales or leases a big portion of the transactions you have encountered?

Leases are a big portion of my client base right now.  There is a shortage of available housing so people are turning to leases for the time being.

9.  What advice would you give to someone looking to sell their home?

Sell now.  You have a great opportunity to get your asking price if your home is priced right.  Multiple offers on a well priced home are very common these days.

10.  What advice would you give to someone looking to buy a home?

Have patience.  You can fall in love with a home at noon and that very home might be sold by 5pm.  There is a shortage of inventory and so being patient and continuously on the lookout for what new listings are hitting the market is key.

 

Carolyn Coakley is a licensed Real Estate Agent at Real Estate One in Royal Oak, MI.  If you are interested in Buying, Selling or Leasing a home, you can contact Carolyn Coakley at:

Real Estate One
26236 Woodward Ave.
Royal Oak, MI 48067

Cell: (313) 461-3983
Office: (248) 548-9100

Email: carolyn.coakley@gmail.com
Website: http://www.carolynmovesme.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2012 in career, job, life, people

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Interview with Carolyn Coakley of Real Estate One

  1. joannerambling

    August 6, 2012 at 1:01 am

    This was a great interview loved it learnt a bit more about you from it…………thanks for posting it

     
    • wendymc12

      August 6, 2012 at 1:30 am

      Thanks for your comment. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post.

       

Leave a Reply

 
