RSS

What Just Happened?

02 Aug

I was at work today when a call came in for the Realtor on the floor.  Floor time is a scheduled block of time where a Realtor will answer incoming calls from people interested in asking about particular homes they have seen.  A schedule goes up each month and the Realtors take turns sitting at the phone for a block of time to answer incoming calls.  For a new Realtor, this time is key to getting leads on possible clients looking to buy or sell their home.

The Realtor on the floor today received a call from a person interested in seeing homes that evening.  They were under a time constraint and needed to find a home to lease quickly.  The Realtor turned the call over to me because they already had an appointment scheduled for that evening.

I spoke with the woman and learned what homes she was interested in, the amount of money she was looking to spend, how soon she needed to be in a new home and what area she was interested in living.  I called the Real Estate agencies listing the homes and scheduled appointments for later in the day.

This would be my first appointment to show a home.  I have to be honest, I was both excited and nervous at the same time.  My biggest concern was not that I would flub up the meeting in any way.  I was nervous because the appointments were at night, I would be meeting up with a couple I had never met, and the homes we would be touring were vacant.  Thankfully my husband was willing to be my driver for the evening.

I found the first home with no problem and the couple were just pulling up themselves.  I introduced myself and then went about opening up the lockbox to get us inside.  As I was fiddling with the box, the door flew open and a man stood in the doorway.  The man said that he was a squatter there to use the internet.  I was shocked.  He said to come on in and that he was told that people would be by from time to time to look at the home.  We actually went inside and realized the place was a disaster.  The carpet was stained everywhere, there were giant cobwebs and there was more dirt throughout the home than I could wrap my head around.  Needless to say, it was a quick visit.

We had one other home to go to, so we headed off to the next house.  The home we saw was a breath of fresh air.  There was new carpet, paint, appliances and a beautifully polished wood floor.  It was a remarkable contrast from the last home.  The couple loved what they saw and decided that this was the home for them.  The most incredible part of the comparison of the two homes was that they were both priced the same.

I couldn’t believe that my very first showing produced a sale.  I also felt incredibly lucky to have listened to my gut and had my husband go along for the ride.  The couple were wonderful and I truly enjoyed getting to know them.  I still can’t believe that someone answered the door at the first home and then said they were a squatter.  It was pretty creepy, but what a great story it makes when someone asks me what my first sale was like.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in career, job, life, real estate, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “What Just Happened?

  1. joannerambling

    August 4, 2012 at 5:04 am

    What a story and and how cool you your first sale, the first of many I am sure……..

     
  2. Jan Rossi (@JanRossiCO)

    August 3, 2012 at 2:41 am

    Wow! That was so unexpected, sounds like you kept your cool. Always be safe showing houses, especially at night!

     
  3. Tammy

    August 3, 2012 at 12:47 am

    Now that is a story you get to tell for many many years! That is crazy. I wonder if the landlord / owner knew he was there.

     
    • wendymc12

      August 3, 2012 at 1:06 am

      He seemed right at home as though he had been allowed to hang out. No idea why the home was so trashed or why he said he was a squatter. I did leave a message for the Realtor.

       
      • Tammy

        August 3, 2012 at 4:51 pm

        That is crazy. Sounds like one of my tenants. LOL

         

Leave a Reply

 
