RSS

First Week at the Real Estate Office

10 Jul

So I’m sure you are wondering what the first week is like in the office.  My week was a whirlwind of activities.  I have to admit that it is truly overwhelming to realize how much you don’t know.  Complicate that with some people reaching out wanting me to list their properties and help them find new homes and the race is on to get everything taken care of.

I started my first day with a meeting.  There were several other realtors who attended the meeting that I got to meet.  The meeting covered topics associated with the first meeting with a potential client.  It was probably the best, most interesting meeting I have ever attended.  I really felt as though I had found my dream job.  I soaked up as much information as I could and loved all of the side comments from other realtors relating stories of experiences they have had.

Because of the holiday, there weren’t as many people in the office.  I spent most of my time working from home  the first week.  Truly a dream come true for a mom with younger children at home.  I had a pile of paperwork that I was given with checklists of things to set up and goals to accomplish each day. Most of my week was spent on a computer, but from home.

I have spent the week setting up email, voicemail, ordering business cards, putting a contact list together and prepared to put my profile on every real estate site I could find.  My week was basically a bunch of busy work, but needed busy work.

As I go into my second week, my focus will begin to be put onto how calls are handled, visiting open houses and doing some driving with some of the other Realtors.  Oh yeah, I have two different friends asking me to list their homes and help them find new places to live.  I won’t be able to assist them until my license comes into the office, but thankfully they are in no rush.

Overall, I am thrilled to be seeing some future business so quickly.  I know that over the next few weeks, things will begin to fall into place and I will be more comfortable with the process of putting contracts together and showing properties.  I am just excited and at the same time impatient to learn everything I can and run with all of my new-found knowledge.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in career, job, personal, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “First Week at the Real Estate Office

  1. Cheryl Therrien (@citherrien)

    July 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Good for you! So Glad that you are happy. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
