RSS

Studying For the State Exam

12 Jun

First off I have to admit that I have a lot of work ahead of me.  Even worse, after a long week of studying every waking moment, my momentum has dropped to nil.  After the final on Friday I was beat.  Literally I felt like a walking zombie.  Saturday I took a day off.  My brain had turned to mush and I was hit by extreme exhaustion.  I spent the day catching up with relatives by the pool.  Not a bad way to take a day off.  Sunday, reality called to me and I took a good look around the house.  My house was trashed.  I hadn’t paid an ounce of attention to cleaning and the poor house needed an overhaul.  I spent Sunday cleaning, grocery shopping and doing bills.  It was truly a maintenance day that was badly needed.

So you would think that by Monday I would be back in full swing studying my heart out.  Well, the kids were back from their dad’s house.  There was a 4pm appointment at the dentist for my oldest daughter.  My youngest daughter has a swim party on Friday, and so we went shopping for a bathing suit.  I had looked over my paperwork, but I never got cracking on any studying.

Today I will begin studying.  I have to get this done, because I am holding myself up from making an income.  To get ready for the state test, there is an online program you need to go to for registration.  There is a $36.00 fee when you sign up.  After the state checks your background, you are allowed to register for the state exam.  It takes 2-5 days to get an approval to apply for the state test.  When you apply for the state test, it is a $75.00 fee and depending on if you pay online or send it in, it can be several more days before you can take the test.  You can’t take the state exam or even sign up until all approvals have been met and you receive a confirmation from the state.

I honestly didn’t realize how long this would take and had assumed I would be taking the test this week.  So now I have to get going and push my study efforts.  My plan is to do practice tests.  There are a million programs with free practice tests available on the internet.  You can also find practice tests through the state.  The reason taking practice tests makes sense is twofold.  It gives you the opportunity to get comfortable taking tests (being out of school for so many years, this is a helpful way of studying).  The tests are designed to rate you in a number of areas.  You actually find out what areas you aren’t fully doing your best.  Then you can go back to the book and brush up on your weak areas.

I’ll check back in later in the week and let you know what I’ve learned from studying this way.  Hope this information is helpful if you are thinking of pursuing real estate as a career.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2012 in career, real estate, school

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Studying For the State Exam

  1. Jo-Anne Meadows

    June 12, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Practice tests are great and I think for most people they help, so I hope you are one of those people and that when you do the exam you pass with flying colours…….

     
    • wendymc12

      June 13, 2012 at 12:05 am

      Thanks so much for the encouraging words.

       

Leave a Reply

 
