RSS

Real Estate Agents are not Salespeople. We are Consultants.

22 Jan

When I decided to get into real estate, I figured that my background would be a perfect fit.  I have a strong history in the sales field.  I was really good in my field, and truly enjoyed the social aspect of a sales job.

When I took the classes and worked with a mentor, sales was what was discussed.  There were strategies and outlines.  There were even scripts you could use.  It wasn’t until I really got off the ground that I realized that sales has nothing to do with being a good real estate agent.

I’m sure there are agents out there that will argue that this is a sales job, but let me tell you why I think it’s not. My feeling is that if you are a good agent, you are not a salesperson but a consultant.  This is one of the few jobs where it doesn’t matter how hard you might try to sell someone on a home.  Buying a home is incredibly emotional.  It is also one of the biggest expenses you will have in a lifetime.  I don’t know anyone who is casual enough to allow a salesperson to come in and twist their arm to buy a home that might not be right for them.  Let me state it another way.  I could never be that person who puts pressure on a client.

My personal feeling is that if you are a good real estate agent, you will treat your client like you would treat a good friend.  There is respect, understanding and help in figuring out what type of home might suit that particular client best.

As a real estate agent, you are there to guide your client.  You must be knowledgeable and able to teach them the steps in home ownership.  You are the person that a client will go to for consultation.  Maybe the time is right for a customer to buy, and maybe it’s not.  The goal is not to sell a home, but to help a customer decide what’s right for them.

If you go about your job in this manner, the rewards will come.  A customer might use you later down the road because of your honesty and integrity.  You will gain a good reputation, and yes, you will sell homes and make a good living.

It’s all perspective.  I know that I would be turned off by an agent who felt like a salesperson.  On the other hand, an agent that acted as a consultant would impress me and leave a lasting good impression.

For those of you just starting out in real estate, this way of looking at your job might be of enormous benefit to you.  If you are an agent, how do you approach your job?  Are you a salesperson or a consultant?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2013 in advice, career, houses for sale, real estate

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Real Estate Agents are not Salespeople. We are Consultants.

  1. Tammy

    February 23, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    You are so right! I think of myself as someone that helps others find the perfect home. The sales person might “sell” a home but as a consultant, as someone who cared to make sure it was the right home we end up the bigger winners down the road due to referals and sleeping well at night. :)

     
    • wendymc12

      February 23, 2013 at 6:37 pm

      How is it going for you these days? Are you glad you jumped in to real estate?

       
      • Tammy

        February 23, 2013 at 11:14 pm

        I LOVE IT!! I’m so busy between being a full time realtor and full time business owner but I wish i would have done it before. I read your posts each time (they go to my phone) and you are dead on! Keep up the great work

         
      • wendymc12

        February 24, 2013 at 7:39 am

        That’s awesome. I’m so glad you made the leap!!

         
  2. rentalproperty23

    January 28, 2013 at 6:51 am

    Thanks for providing good information about Real Estate Agents. As an Agent I fell very happy by seeing a blog like this. Really great contribution buddy.

    houses for rent

     
    • wendymc12

      January 28, 2013 at 11:11 am

      Thank you. When I first got into real estate, I would look for a blog that really talked about what it was like from an agents perspective. After I had no luck, I decided to start that type of blog myself.

       
  3. daily life impressions

    January 23, 2013 at 4:52 am

    I feel the same, just resigned my current job to get back into estate agency again. Even if there are so many here in Windhoek Namibia and people, most of all other agents, tell me that it is risky and a hard job, I feel I can make a difference, applying everything you stated here.
    Thank you for your inside. Please review my new post on this matter, How to make the right choices on my blog…….have a great day.

     
    • wendymc12

      January 23, 2013 at 6:29 am

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the subject. :)

       
  4. joannerambling

    January 22, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    I like that you do not think it is all about the bottom line…………aka……the sale…………

     
    • wendymc12

      January 23, 2013 at 6:36 am

      I think the people who get burnt out and leave the business after very little time are the ones who view real estate as a bottom line type business.

       
  5. charlestonscbroker

    January 22, 2013 at 11:54 am

    The consultant has the heart of a teacher whereas a salesperson just cares about a sale in my opinion.

     
    • wendymc12

      January 22, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      I think that is perfectly stated!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,157 other followers

