RSS

Getting Through the Lean Months

12 Dec

After having such a busy schedule these last few months, my schedule has slowed down considerably as the holidays are fast approaching.  Like every new realtor, there is a worry about getting through the lean months.

Lets face it, you can advertise and farm areas to death with no immediate results.  These methods are key in establishing yourself and making your name familiar with the masses.  This is not a fast way to sustain your income though.

I make it a priority to keep my name circulating through flyers, email, social media and volunteer work.  Even so, I still need a source of income.  I think that in the beginning, many people fall off the real estate wagon because they don’t have the funds or a backup plan to sustain them.

I am a writer.  I can pull in extra money from the articles I write.  This is an ideal job because I can juggle my real estate career and my writing career without a conflict in schedules (at least at this point in my career).  I do realize that down the road, this could become a bit more challenging as I get busier.  For now, I find this to be a good compromise.

My advice to anyone starting their career is that now that you have worked to hard get here, don’t let something like paying bills get in your way of success.  It’s inevitable that down the road you will see an increase in your income, but this is a career where making money is slow in gaining momentum.

Have a back-up plan.  Something that won’t affect your number one goal of being a realtor.  Whether it is a part-time job, or a small side business, you will need some sort of supplement.  Below I have listed a few ideas for ways of making some extra money.

1.  Teach classes at a local community center.  They can be classes on how to get your home ready to sell or how to rent out your home.  The class might be based on a hobby you have or a skill you possess.

2.  Become a freelance writer.

3.  Set up a social media campaign for clients.  (maybe for other realtors or small business owners).

4.  Sell items at craft shows if you are creative.  Slow months for realtors are busy months for craft shows.

5.  Babysitting is a big business.  Try care.com or sittercity.com.

6.  Running errands or pet sitting are always in demand.

7.  Lastly, think about the skills you possess.  Maybe you are a great organizer or know how to do bookkeeping.  Whatever it is, take advantage of it so that you have more money flowing through your household.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2012 in advice, career, how to, self-help

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,159 other followers

