RSS

Reorganize and Set New Goals

02 Dec

This time of year is always busy.  There is Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years all back to back.  Personal obligations increase as family stops in from out-of-town, there are holiday parties to attend and endless amounts of shopping.  Even during the craziness of the season, my mind drifts back to where I am at in my real estate career.

I have been doing a lot of soul-searching about what I have accomplished so far in my career and what I would like to see happen this next year.  I have definitely gotten my feet wet by renting out properties and listing and selling a home.  I feel more comfortable with the mounds of paperwork and the knowledge of what is the correct protocol while working with a client.  With the uneasiness of so many new experiences behind me, I can now concentrate on what I have learned and what areas I need to tweak.

My biggest pitfall was getting so wrapped up in the activity of working with several clients at once, that promoting myself fell into the background.  I felt overloaded and had difficulty juggling the task of continuing to get my name out there.  I did hand out flyers and send out emails, but now that I am wrapping up some deals, I have little on my plate to work with.

I am looking forward to the fact that December is a little bit of a quieter month.  I need to reorganize all of my paperwork and come up with a better filing system.  I need to sit down and tear apart all that I have done to make a solid career out of real estate and plan a new way of going after business.

I am grateful for all of the experiences I have had.  I am thrilled that I work for a company that has weekly training seminars that help you on your path.  Ideas are always fresh this way.  We have had so many different people come and speak with us at these meetings.  Truly, that is my favorite part of these meetings.  I love to hear from so many different personalities.  There are so many ways to go after business, and it’s great to pull a little bit of an idea from one person and a little more from someone else.

By the time January hits, I will be running full force again.  I will have completed my work makeover and will feel organized.  I will have a plan in place and some extra confidence to back me up.

Have you considered where you are at with your own career?  Have you ripped apart your way of going after business and restructured your plans?  I believe in keeping things fresh.  If you spend too many months working one system, you will get bored and a bit lazy.  I believe that every now and then you should shake up your system.  Reevaluate where you are at and what you want to accomplish.  Success is there for the taking.  Being mindful of what your weaknesses are and adjusting your plan of action can be the difference between success and failure.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 2, 2012 in advice, career, how to

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,159 other followers

