RSS

The Highs and Lows of Being a Real Estate Agent

14 Nov

The last two days have been a whirlwind.  I have been juggling a few different clients and quite a lot has happened in such a small span of time.  To break it down, the last two days have been the greatest of moments and the worst of moments.

I have been working with a great couple.  They are wonderful to deal with and make my job really enjoyable.  They have trusted my opinions on what will help the house look its best and what price would be appropriate to list the home for.  We’ve had great communication with each other and the whole process has just been extremely pleasant.

I listed the home on Monday.  I had just finished the paperwork and put the information on the MLS to advertise it was for sale.  Within ten minutes of the home being placed online, a call came in from a realtor looking to schedule an appointment for later that day.  A few moments later, another call came in to view the property.  It felt good to hear that there was an immediate interest in the home.

Three hours after putting the listing online, an offer came in.  It was a cash offer and $5,000 over listing price.  It was the craziest experience I have had so far.  I called the owners and they were thrilled.  Needless to say, papers were signed, there is an inspection scheduled, and we should be closing in two weeks.  It was incredible.

During this same time frame, I had a client looking to rent a home.  They had submitted their information, and the owner agreed to lease to them.

To backtrack a moment, I have had an uneasy feeling about this client from the beginning.  They were 25 minutes late to their first appointment.  The second time I took them out, they were 15 minutes late to the first home.  We went to another home afterwards which was 5 minutes away, and it took them 20 minutes to get there.  Apparently they got lost.

When they found the home they wanted to lease, they dragged their feet getting all of the paperwork in.  I got 14 emails in an hour span dissecting the lease and making complaints such as that they had to pay a fee for a cashier’s check.  They were originally going to sign the lease within a day after they had someone look over the lease.  Then it was stalled with them stating they would sign at the end of the week (6 days later).

I explained that there wasn’t a contract in place yet and that the owner could go with another renter if they were slow to act.  I got an email back stating that the lease would be signed and handed in the next day.  Two hours later, I received an email stating they weren’t interested after all.

When you are in real estate, you will have the amazing moments and the annoying ones.  In the case of the lease, I felt horrible for the other realtor as though I had been the one jerking them around.  I felt even worse for the homeowner who had trusted the process and pulled the listing from the market.

This is what working as a real estate agent is really like.  Some moments will be really great, and some moments will make you want to pull your hair out.  You really do have to be a people person to enjoy this career.  You also have to have a thick skin.  This is the part I am still working on.  I’ll put my heart and soul into helping someone out, and if the deal goes bad, I take it personally.  I know it’s just business and that you never can tell what situations a person might be experiencing to react in the manner in which they do.

I truly believe that this is a great career for character building, patience and learning to roll with the punches.  I honestly am willing to endure a few bad moments, because the good moments tend to happen more often and it really is so worthwhile to invest in.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in business, career planning, personal

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Highs and Lows of Being a Real Estate Agent

  1. D'Ann Bartley

    December 3, 2012 at 12:24 am

    You are a new agent with the same philosophy I have had for the 26 years I have been a Realtor. I wish I had put these concepts into writing back in 1986 so it would have been a clear path for me from the start, but nevertheless, this is exactly how I feel, and how I have worked all these years! I have had a very successful career based on helping people, not on counting commissions. The money will follow as a byproduct of doing the best job you can for each person you work with. I also recommend being involved with your local association and giving back to the industry that gives so much to us! It has been deeply gratifying to me to serve on a local, regional and state level. I really like your blog and the idea of helping new agents or those who may be interested in real estate as a career! Best of luck to you, I am sure you will be very successful!
    — D’Ann Bartley, Prudential California Realty, Santa Maria, CA. SantaMariaHomesOnline.com

     
    • wendymc12

      December 3, 2012 at 6:36 am

      Thanks so much. Your comment really means the world to me. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,157 other followers

