RSS

Taking Charge of My Style

28 Sep

In the last post I wrote of finding your personal style.  Staying true to yourself in my opinion makes the difference between a successful salesperson who will enjoy their career for many years and the robotic salesperson who will dread their job and burn out quickly.

Since firmly deciding that I would concentrate on my own voice and what I know works for me, I have been feeling more comfortable and excited again about my career choice.  I have to admit, I was losing my focus and enthusiasm from a forced effort to accommodate my trainer’s ideal of the “proper” way of cultivating a sales career in real estate.  Their way of going about gaining clients might very well work for them, but it made me feel slimy.

I have spent the week reworking my schedule and tweaking some things to announce that I am a real estate agent smartly without any sales pressure attached to it.  The first thing I did, was to put in a good signature on my emails.  Sounds obvious, but it was something that was never discussed in my program, but carries a definite punch.  I made sure that my signature contained the name and address of my office, my cell number, email address and personal website.  I also made sure to include my picture.

I got to see the power of this unassuming way of advertising when I wrote a few emails this week.  One of the emails I wrote was to a group of parents at the school regarding a volunteer opportunity.  It was wonderful to be able to announce what my career was to my target audience in a way that caused no one any amount of uneasiness.

This week has been my volunteer week.  To get out in front of people is priceless.  On top of that, I get to enjoy what I’m doing.  Volunteering feels great.  I love being able to do something good, enjoy how I’m spending my time and mention what I do for a living in the most unassuming way.  This weekend I will be volunteering at a city event.  My sales pitch is nothing more than some brightly colored football schedules printed on some heavy-duty card stock.  In the top corner of each schedule is my picture and office information.  That’s it!  $14.00 for 250 sheets of card stock, .25 per colored copy, total spent, $26.50.  Truly an easy sales pitch with a very minimal amount of money spent.  I will have a pile of free schedules at the information booth I will be working.  No mention of the schedules will be made.  People can take one if they are interested.  If it creates a conversation, great!  My picture is on the schedules so it is obvious that I am the realtor.

This brings up a point I’d like to touch on briefly.  I am very careful with the amount of money that leaves my pocket.  I know some agents who have spent a fortune on fancy products to make them more efficient and systems to help them increase their sales.  They have done no better gaining leads or making sales than me.  I have spent to date just under $50.00.  Besides the card stock, there was some office supplies I bought (because it is your own business in a sense and office supplies are up to you).

In the end, as I am wrapping up my week, I am feeling good about my decision and my new plan of action.  I have a feeling of excitement which will translate to a happy, confident person when faced with potential customers.  I will let you know how this new plan of action works out.  I hope my experience has helped you consider how you would like to approach your own potential customers. Also, please think carefully about purchases you make and if they are really worth it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in advice, job, life, opinion, style, thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Taking Charge of My Style

  1. Rdesigns

    September 28, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Congratulations for finding your voice and style! It has been a tough journey trying to figure out how to approach a real estate business because it is a very unique creature. Coming from an interior design background, my approach will be different than other agents. An example being, before marketing that I am a real estate agent to my design clients, I had to consider my audience and image. This is why I put in a little extra money for an announcement card that I could personalize and feel confident that it matched my style and how I wanted to approach my business. There is an expectation of style from a designer and I had to consider this before launching my campaign to my clients. There are many ways to go about this business and it truly works best when you take into consideration your own style and personality. Way to go Wendy… You are on your way to success!

     
    • wendymc12

      September 28, 2012 at 5:55 pm

      I was recommended a great book that really put things in perspective. Grateful for the opportunity to read the book and for the wonderful person who let me borrow it. I think you are on your way to an incredible dual career. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,158 other followers

